The South African Women in Science Awards 2018

Photo of Prof. Renée Kraan-Korteweg.

At the “South African Women in Science Awards 2018” Ceremony on August 23rd, hosted by the Department of Science and Technology, the Minister of Science and Technology Ms. Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane announced a Special Award in the field of Astronomy: the “Commemorative MeerKAT Award” to celebrate the successful launch of MeerKAT on July 13th, 2018. The winner is Prof. Renée Kraan-Korteweg.

The official award citation for Renée says “for her outstanding contribution to building South Africa’s scientific and research knowledge base in advancing the field of Astronomy”.

Prof. Renée C. Kraan-Korteweg is the Chair of the SA Astronomical Advisory Council, incoming Chair of the Steering Committee of the IAU Office of Astronomy for Development (OAD), as well as Vice President of the IAU. She joined the University of Cape Town Astronomy Department in 2005, after positions held in Mexico, France, the Netherlands and Switzerland. Her main interests are in the large-scale distribution and flows of galaxies in the nearby Universe, with particular focus on mapping galaxies hidden by the Milky Way.

DEBRA M. ELMEGREEN is Professor of Astronomy on the Maria Mitchell Chair and Department Chair of Vassar College. Professor Elmegreen was Vice President of the IAU and is the Incoming President-Elect.